Random musings

Old school outdoor games

There are days at the office when we are reminded that we are a unique (polite way of saying crazy!) bunch. Today was one of those days.

My boss was searching for our guillotine (to cut paper…not anything illegal) and suddenly a line from a childhood game popped into her head “here comes the chopper to chop off your head”. We debated for a few minutes as to which game/song it was from and a quick Google search confirmed that it was indeed Oranges & Lemons.

It was a blast from the past and all 4 of us started to reminisce the games we once played as kids. The ones that I remember playing at my grandparents home or at school are:

  • Farmer in the dell
  • The hokeypokey
  • Ring-a-ring-a-roses
  • Hide and seek
  • Hopscotch

My favourite was hopscotch. My cousins and I  would use the stones in the yard to draw the circles and squares on the cemented area outside my grandparent’s home. My grandfather would scold us for drawing on the cement and tell us to play on the sand instead.

Those were good times.  Where kids spent most of their time outdoors…

Note to my future self: When you have kids play some old school games with them!

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

