DIY

{DIY} First time with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint ®

I’ve always been in awe of all the amazing DIY furniture transformations on Pinterest so I decided that it was time to try my hand at one.  I found a chest of drawers on Gumtree for R500.  I probably could have bought a standard one brand new for just a little more but I loved the curvy detail of the dresser legs.  My friend T, who is a DIY addict (for lack of a better word)  was kind enough to lend me her Annie Sloan paints and brushes so I could try it out and see if I liked them before forking out any money.  So one weekend soon after our return from our trip to the UK, MR C & I set about to create a masterpiece 😀

Before (We forgot to take a pic before we started removing the drawer knobs.  Realised it just as we were about to remove the last two and scrambled to put all the drawers back in for a quick photo)

IMG_1940

We had to clean up the cupboard and do a bit of mending before we could paint.  I don’t get how people can sell their stuff without cleaning it (even a little) before selling it.  Maybe it’s just me…

Mr C was a huge help with the sanding 🙂  Not exactly sure what he was doing with the braai tongs though…

(I know it’s not necessary for Chalk Paint but the dresser we bought didn’t have a very smooth surface and the drawers did not slide in and out freely.)

IMG_1937IMG_1935

The fun part – painting!

IMG_1946IMG_1942

Time for a break…

IMG_1944

And Voila!

IMG_1953

Since this pic was taken, I’ve added more white to the top.  Thinking of stencilling french script in a light grey on the top and this lacy effect on the drawers.

All things said and done, not bad for our first furniture DIY!

Leave a Comment

