Inspiration

Laps, finally!

Swimming has been on my bucket list for a long long time. Actually, since the days I was in a school uniform!

Finally I can strike it off.

It’s taken me a long time but from last week I finally started swimming proper laps.  By proper I mean the full length of the pool without stopping halfway or before I touched the wall at the other end. The pool I go to is 25 metres long. Now that I’ve pretty much got the crawl/freestyle down, it’s time to focus on the other strokes. I’ve got half of the back stroke down – the float and kick, adding the arms just seems to throw me off completely but with more practice I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it. The breast stroke requires a lot of co-ordination, (something I have in short supply lol) so even if I only get the hang of that next year sometime, that’s okay with me.

There’s so many adults that can’t swim and some that are too scared to try or just think that it would be too embarrassing to go for lessons. It’s never too late to try.  When I started the adult swim class, there were only 2-3 of us and now there’s at least 6 at a time.  Those that started after me were able to grasp some things quicker than I did and make a lot of progress when I felt as though my progress was stagnant. That was a crappy feeling but I stuck it out. Determination always wins in the end.

Yes going for lessons are intimidating – especially in the beginning, when you’re terrified that you’re going to sink and tend to do all sorts of funny things in the water.  My instructor always jokes about taking before and after videos to show us what we really looked like in the beginning. Now that’s something I’d rather not see! There’s also days when you look for any excuse not to go for lessons, too tired, too much to do etc.

But the end result is so worth it! I promise.

Leave a Comment

