Uncategorized · WP Challenges

Prove it or lose it

“NO! You don’t get to do this to me, not again”  she thought to herself.  Eva put the kettle on as she typed furiously into her iPhone.

E: You can’t expect me to just forget what you did.   You hurt me, you know.

J:  I said I’m sorry Eva, how many more times do I have to say it for you to believe me?

E:  They’re just words Jim.  WORDS. They mean nothing.

Five full minutes pass by.  Eva puts the phone down on the counter and makes herself a cup of tea. Using both hands, she places the cup to her lips to take a sip.  The burning hot liquid feels good her tongue and makes her anger dissipate somewhat.  And then the phone beeps to life shattering her moment of peace.  Groaning, she grabs the phone and looks at the display.

J:  I know I hurt you and I really am sorry.  What do I have to do to prove it to you?  I’ll do anything.

Arggghhh! If I told you what to do it would make it too easy, you dumbass! Are men really that thick? she wondered out loud.

E:  I can’t tell you what to do. You have to find your own way to make things right.  And I can’t promise that I’ll still be here waiting when you do figure it out.

J:  Okay

E:  If you want this, then you have to prove to me that you want it.  That’s all I’m saying.  I’m switching my phone off now and going to bed.

J:  Good night Eva.  I love you

E:  Night

Eva fumbled to switch off the phone before another message could make its way through and she lost her nerve.  She turned off the lights and headed upstairs.  Her tea still sat on the counter, cold and forgotten.

This post is in response to Daily Prompt: With or Without You.

2 thoughts on “Prove it or lose it

Leave a Comment

