Events · Random musings · Uncategorized

Putting up the tree

I’m convinced that Christmas is not just a Christian holiday but a South African holiday.  How else would you explain  people of different religions putting up Christmas trees, complete with presents under the tree and wishing their relatives (also non Christians) a Merry Christmas?  I must say that I’m perfectly happy with it being that way. I get to have a pretty tree up, with some presents for family and Mr C underneath and it’s a time when people are a lot more giving.  And while I agree that giving should happen throughout the year, not everyone subscribes to that belief. I’m just happy that at one point in the year, others are given a second thought.

A few days ago I decided that I couldn’t wait for Mr C to haul out the Christmas tree, if I did, well let’s just say I’d be waiting a long long time…

So, that afternoon I went to the store to pick up some baubles and was taken aback at how expensive they were.  Last year we only had 12 baubles and our Christmas lights on the tree.  Oh and a gorgeous silver star.  So this year I thought it would be nice to add to our collection.  The bulk decorations were way out of budget so I got a 12 pack in plum and a 6 pack in silver instead.

   20131220-110332.jpg20131220-110553.jpg

20131220-110520.jpg

I laid them out on the sofa and got the lights out.  All that was left was the tree. Our beautiful white tree that  lay on the topmost shelf in the bedroom cupboard, underneath a whole host of other things.  We have no step ladder (something we really should purchase in the new year, along with a portable fan).  And usually we use bar stools (given to us by relatives) as our stepping stool/coffee table/extra seats when needed but we lent them to friends and have yet to pick them up. So I did the only thing I could as a woman with limited resources.  I pushed the bed against the cupboard, stood on tip toe (I’m 1.5m) and stretched my arms as far as they would go 🙂

Here it is decked out in all its glory.

Screen shot 2013-12-21 at 3.55.03 PM

So many presents but none of them are mine 😦 Mr C got a few from suppliers and his company and my present to him is on the left.  He hasn’t left mine under yet and I’m pretty sure he hasn’t bought it yet 😀 (He’s terrible at keeping things a surprise so prefers to get gifts at the last possible moment so he can trust himself to not give it to me extra early!)

Something quite special on our tree this year was a pretty photo bauble from a special relative.

20131220-110536.jpg

Leave a Comment

