Inspiration · Uncategorized · WP Challenges

Snapshots

I stepped outside, paused for a brief moment and went back in.  I could feel a slight chill in the air.  I normally don’t feel too cold so this usually wouldn’t have phased me. What did get my attention however, was what I could smell, not so much feel.  The air held the promise of rain.  Rain to quench the thirst of the parched ground.  Rain to drench cars that had been washed just the day before.  Rain to remind us of the beauty of nature, lest we forget it.

I grabbed my black biker jacket off the hanger and dashed out the door once more.  As usual the clock was against me and I had to speed up my pace.  I barely made it out of the complex when I could feel the gentle pitter patter. I pulled my hood on my head and tilted my head downward and away from the rain.  I didn’t mind the drizzle so much, I was just glad that it hadn’t poured before I set out on my arduous journey.  You see,  my daily commute consists of a 15 minute walk, passing through some green metal gates and treacherous pathway.  Well its only bad when there’s a storm, other times it’s bearable.  Heinous pathways aside, it’s a blessing to be able to walk to work when you’re living in Johannesburg.  It’s every commuters dream – you get to avoid the congested roads, saving time and energy, plus you get a little bit of exercise 😉

I was relieved that I was able to cross the mini ravine without having to play the “wobbly stepping stones above rapidly flowing water” game.  I had taken a picture of it last year and it looked like a waterfall, wish I still had that pic to share!

This post was in response to the Weekly Writing Challenge.

4 thoughts on “Snapshots

Leave a Comment

