Inspiration · Uncategorized · WP Challenges

Moved by Music

Image

Music is a universal language.  It knows not gender, race, religion or language because at the end of the day it’s just words.  Beautiful words.  Sad words. Words that make you happy.  Words that make you sad.  Sometimes it’s not even about the words at all.  It’s the melody that evokes a certain emotion in you.  You may forget the lyrics to a song you love but you never forget the melody or the way it makes you feel.  Music is like the sound version of a photo.  Each song holds a memory for someone – reminding them of a place, a time, a person.  Many of us still remember the first song we danced to with our high school crush, while fighting the butterflies and trying to remember which foot to step with {or if you’re like me you were trying to avoid stepping on his toes!}.  There’s also the song that you listened to (on repeat) that made you bawl like a baby when your heart was shattered into a thousand little pieces.

Music is a powerful thing.  It can make you shed tears or make you want to get up and dance.  It has the ability to banish the storm cloud from a miserable day {I head to YouTube if I’m having a miserable day and need to turn my mood around.  Chocolate also does the trick – but YouTube is free…}

One of my favorite piano pieces is Yiruma – River Flows in You.  The melody is so beautiful and pure and it fills me with so much of love every time I hear it.  If your situation allows, close your eyes before you press play and just get lost in the music…

Music is food for my soul.  It soothes my heart when it needs comfort.  It makes my days brighter and my step lighter.

I hope it does the same for you.

xx

Uresha

p.s.  This post is in response to the Weekly Writing Challenge by the Daily Post

One thought on “Moved by Music

Leave a Comment

